top of page
Historical List of the Howard Thurman Convocation & Awardees

Each year, The Church for The Fellowship of All Peoples celebrates its anniversary by convening the Howard Thurman Convocation. The convocation was established after our 50th Anniversary as a way of annually coming together to reflect upon the extraordinary life and work of Dr. Howard Thurman. It also serves to recall us to our highest resolve, to remind us of our beginnings as an incubator and on‐going expression of beloved community in the midst of great challenges. 


*Designates a recipient of the Howard Thurman Award which is given in recognition of an individual who embodies the life and legacy of Dr. Thurman.

Click on names for that year's convocation program (some programs are missing).

To explore images from past convocations, please visit our Historical Gallery.


2023 San Francisco Historical Landmark Designation

Video Links


2022 Seeding Metamorphosis - Paloma Hernandez & Nicole Sutto


2021 Concert - Works by Composer Blind Tom


2019 *Dr. James Abbington


2018 *Phil Hutchings, *Rev. Deborah Lee


2017 *David and Jan Hartsough

2016 Fellowship Prophetic Voices: Hassaun Ali Jones-Bey, Rev. Suzi Spangenberg,

Rev. Liz Olson, Rev. Elena Rose Vera


2015 *Eugene “Gus” Newport


2014 *Jacqueline Hairston


2013 *Dr. Angela Davis and *Dr. Fania Davis


2012 Friends of Negro Spirituals: *Sam Edwards and *Lyvonne Chrisman


2011 Dr. Carl Blake in recital


2010 *Rev. Dr. Cecil Williams


2009 *Dr. J. Alfred Smith, Sr.


2008 *Chaplain James J. Yee


2007 *Dr. Leslie Feinberg


2006 *Rev. Nelson Johnson and Joyce Johnson


2005 *Thelton E. Henderson


2004 Arleigh Prelow


2003 *Robert “Bob” Reece


2002 *Dr. Julius Scott


2001 *Congresswoman Barbara Lee, Rhodessa Jones and Danny Glover


2000 *Daniel Collins, D.D.S.

1999 *Dr. Robert C. Scott

1998 Young Voices Speak at the Dawn of The New Millennium

1997 *Gloria LaRiva

bottom of page